

The Canadian Network to Abolish Nuclear Weapons | Le Réseau canadien pour l'abolition des armes nucléaires

## For Immediate Release May 22, 2020

## The CNANW Condemns US Plans to Withdraw from the Open Skies Treaty

The Canadian Network to Abolish Nuclear Weapons (CNANW\*) joins nations and civil society representatives around the world in condemning the Trump administration announcement on Thursday May 21<sup>st</sup> that it intends to withdraw from the **Open Skies Treaty.** Almost 30 years old, 'Open Skies' has served to reduce the risk of accidental nuclear war with Russia by allowing any of the 34 member states\*\*, including the U.S. and Russia, to conduct reconnaissance flights over one another's territory in order to increase transparency on military forces and activities. The US claims that Russia has been non-compliant with elements of the Treaty. If the US proceeds, formal withdrawal can occur within six months.

CNANW Chairperson, Earl Turcotte, notes that this announcement follows a dangerous pattern.

"Two years ago the US pulled out of the nuclear deal with Iran which, according to experts and other parties to the Joint Comprehensive Plan of Action (JCPOA), was successfully preventing Iran from developing nuclear weapons capability. Then last year, the US withdrew from the Intermediate-range Nuclear Forces (INF) Treaty with Russia that prohibited nuclear weapons with a range of 500 to 5000 kilometres, a treaty considered essential by NATO allies in Europe. Withdrawal from Open Skies will further erode global security.

Nor would it bode well for prospects for renewal of the New Strategic Arms Limitation Treaty (New START) set to expire in February 2021. This, would be the last major bilateral treaty between the US and Russia that places limitations on the possession and deployment of nuclear weapons. And, to date, the US has refused to accept Russia's offer to renew this Treaty without any preconditions".

As a party to the Open Skies Treaty, Canada has a responsibility to try to preserve it. The CNANW calls upon the Government of Canada to register our alarm with the Government of the United States and to work with our European NATO allies and other

concerned nations around the world, to persuade the US and Russia to work out their disagreements with respect to compliance with the terms of the Open Skies Treaty.

The CNANW further urges the Government of Canada, again working with like-minded countries around the world, to press all nine nuclear armed states to join the *Treaty on the Prohibition of Nuclear Weapons* (TPNW)that was negotiated by 122 States in 2017 or to commence negotiations on an urgent basis on a complementary Nuclear Weapons Convention that seeks the same ultimate result, the total elimination of nuclear weapons.

"The nuclear threat to humanity is fully within human control" said Turcotte." We need to eliminate them, before they destroy us!"

Earl Turcotte Chair, CNANW earl.turcotte@gmail.com Tel. 613-839-2777

## \*CNANW Member Groups

- Les Artistes pour la Paix
- <u>Canadian Coalition for Nuclear Responsibility</u>
- Canadian Disarmament Information Service (publishers of Peace Magazine)
- Canadian Federation of University Women
- Canadian Voice of Women for Peace
- Canadian Pugwash Group
- Centre de Ressources sur la Non-Violence
- *Group of 78*
- International Physicians for the Prevention of Nuclear War Canada
- Project Ploughshares
- Religions for Peace Canada
- Rideau Institute
- Science for Peace
- <u>United Nations Association in Canada /</u> <u>Association canadienne pour les Nations Unies</u>
- Women's International League for Peace and Freedom (Canada section)
- World Federalist Movement Canada / Mouvement Federaliste Mondial – Canada

## \*\* Member States to the Treaty on Open Skies

- Belarus
- Belgium
- Bosnia and Herzegovina
- Bulgaria
- Canada
- Croatia
- Czech Republic
- Denmark
- Estonia
- Finland
- France
- Georgia
- Germany
- Greece
- Hungary
- Iceland
- Italy
- Kazakhstan
- Latvia
- Lithuania
- Luxembourg
- Netherlands
- Norway
- Poland
- Romania
- Russian Federation
- Slovakia
- Slovenia
- Spain
- Sweden
- Turkey
- Ukraine
- United Kingdom
- United States of America